Options

SAN home lab environment

Hi guys,

I am new to storage but I would like to put together a SAN/NAS/Shared Storage iSCSI/FC home lab environment that will be supported with different OS, is there a cheap way on putting together this lab, or will this cost me a fortune, links on some read outs/threads etc. and where I should start will be awesome.

Comments

• Options
    QHaloQHalo Member Posts: 1,488
    It will cost you a small fortune, especially FC. When I wanted to dig into this I had someone suggest a DS 3400 IBM FC array as a decent array that would not only perform well but be able to roll with the latest tech like 4Gb and 8Gb switches. The cost of the chassis alone is 3k. I guess it just depends on how deep you're talking about going. The deeper you go though, the deeper your pockets better be.

I guess some more info would be able to refine an answer, because when you mention SAN, the sound of a cash register ringing should pop in your head. :p I don't want to dissuade just prepare you for what you're going to find. I'll try and dig up some stuff I found on the topic in regards to building a home lab when I get home.
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    OpenFiler or FreeNAS will do iSCSI. Great for labbing ESX/vSphere vMotion, etc.
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    Somebody else will have to chime in about whether this is still true or not but at one point, OpenFiler didn't support iSCSI persistent reservations which is important for Windows clustering and I think Exchange? No idea if this is still true or not. Also no idea if FreeNAS can do it or not.