Options

Getting calls from IT staffing firms

keeranbrikeeranbri Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
Is it me or is the job market for IT getting better this year? I live in the suburbs of Chicago and lately I have been posting my resume on many of the popular job search engines, such as dice.com, teksystems, monster, etc. and over the past week, I have got about 4 or 5 calls from different agencies that stated I would be a good fit for their client.

However they still have to go through the process of meeting me in person and presenting me to their client, but I guess that is a good sign and I'm thinking. "at least I am getting calls"

My situation is that I truly, definetely want to leave my current position right now, which is not even a IT position but I have been working in this call center environment for about 4 years now doing collections. I have my Bachelors degree in computers as well and no certifications. Do you think they are calling me because I have a degree and call center experience? I am very frustrated with my job right now since they just got bought out by another company, the insurance is horrible ($450.00 dollars for a freakin medical and dental every pay check, for family)
and the management is very unprofessional.

I need to get my foot in the door and get experience and feel that the time is coming soon with all these calls. Should I take the next opportunity that opens up to me and offers me a job even though it is a 6 month contract, contract to hire, possible hire, ect. I would just have put my best foot forward. I'm just scared to leave a permanent job along with my wife collecting unemployement. However, I am not happy at my job right now.

Comments

• Options
    ehndeehnde Member Posts: 1,103
    Don't get excited until you have an actual offer for employment. Will you get the new job you want? Probably. But that might not be with one of these 5 calls you just got. It might be 3 months from now!