Options

Advice needed on career Plan

mywolemywole Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a degree in Information System and i will like to become a Network Engineer. I have 8 years of Technical Support experience with all kinds of cellphones and few Windows support experience. I am currently planining of taking CCNA before June. I am also thinking of doing my master degree.

What are the list of certication i can take? I want to get a job as a Network Support Analyst? My 3 year plan is to become a Network Engineer.

Do you think a master degree will be the way to go or certification route? Thank You for reading

Comments

• Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Just two certs I think. CCIE:Routing and Switching and CCIE: Voice and you'll probably have a solid grounding.
    -Daniel
  • Options
    sambuca69sambuca69 Member Posts: 262
    IMO, knock out the CCNA and start applying for jobs. you can start now too, just mention "CCNA in progress" in a cover letter.

start applying and see what kind of responses you get
  • Options
    ibcritnibcritn Member Posts: 340
    I don't see the masters degree helping out very much when it comes to network engineering.

It will help for a select few of employers, but the vast majority will look at Experience first, Certification second, and Degree third for Network Engineering.

Having said that CCNA is a great baseline which will allow you to branch off in many areas of specialization. Possibly with Cisco (further), Juniper, and Checkpoint are some good options.
    CISSP | GCIH | CEH | CNDA | LPT | ECSA | CCENT | MCTS | A+ | Net+ | Sec+

Next Up: Linux+/RHCSA, GCIA
  • Options
    Dr_AtomicDr_Atomic Member Posts: 184
    Daniel333 wrote: »
    Just two certs I think. CCIE:Routing and Switching and CCIE: Voice and you'll probably have a solid grounding.