Options

Why Aren't The: MCITP:SA & EA That Popular?

Techies,

I'm currently pursuing my MCITP:SA & EA. I currently work as a help desk analyst and have an A+ certification to my name.

I have seen at several job boards that the MCSE 2003 is still MUCH more popular in terms of job keywords then the MCITP series.

It has been 3 years since Microsoft rolled out the new exams and yet they haven't picked up much steam.

My biggest concern is that if I attain the SA & EA certification, it will not either (A) get me a more challenging position or (B) there just won't be any jobs that I can apply for

What do you guys think ? I live in the Seattle,WA metropolitan area and as of today there are only 7 job postings for an MCITP vs. at least a 100 for the old MCSE 2003.

Also, do I have to wait until MS finally pulls the plug on the 2003 exams before I put my 2008 credentials to good use ?

My main question is this..............is it worth pursuing the MCITP series and will it net the dream support engineer or system admin/server analyst position that im trying to attain ?

Comments

• Options
    za3bourza3bour Member Posts: 1,062 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I think this will change this year, for me that's HR fault they aren't exposed to the new technologies and MCSE is a popular term while MCITP is still not.
  • Options
    teksource1984teksource1984 Member Posts: 100
    ahhh.............I see
  • Options
    My advice to you is to study the 2008 material and get MCITP but also to have some experience with the 2003 material since it's still widly used and by this you can say you have 2003 experience in your resume in addition to MCITP certs.
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    za3bour wrote: »
    My advice to you is to study the 2008 material and get MCITP but also to have some experience with the 2003 material since it's still widly used and by this you can say you have 2003 experience in your resume in addition to MCITP certs.