First Real Project - Not sure where to start

Stiltz79Stiltz79 Member Posts: 74 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have just been given my first real project since I started my new job about 6 months ago. I work in an extremely large manufacturing environment and I am a Intel Server Administrator Trainee. I have been given the task of locating all of the Microsoft Access Databases in our environment and completeing compatibility testing on them for our Windows 7/Office 2010 Rollout.

I'm still a trainee so I don't have Domain Admin rights or else I would go out and search the servers. I also know that there are databases that reside locally on desktops all over our plant.

Just to give you an idea:
Around 2700 employees in this office alone
4 Buildings in our area of town
6000+ Computers
400+ Servers
We have facilities in 18 different countries

This is the largest environment I have ever worked in. This is my first Server Side role and project based work. I have been on the Help Desk / Desktop Support side of things until now. I was fortunate to get accepted into a year long training program where I am at. I have a couple of mentors and have already learned a lot!

Any advice on how to track down these databases and who might own them? I don't want to be asking my mentor 5000+ questions because then he is doing the work for me.

Comments

• DevilWAHDevilWAH Member Posts: 2,997 ■■■■■■■■□□
    ask if your comapny has and desktop auditing software/ tools running. Many large compinies have these to see what is on the network.

then if so talk to the people who manage that and see if they can get you a list.

If you do have it running then it is a simple case to run a report for you and you manager will be a lot glader you have asked and got a report in a day, than spent weeks hunting around manualy..