Options

Do you recommend pursuing other certifications before CCNA for a newbie?

blatiniblatini Member Posts: 285
Hey everyone! I want to first say thanks to the people who run the site. Of all the different sites I've been to the last few days looking at information, this one has been infinitely helpful with everything from personal insight to resources. Onto the annoying newbie question!!

I'm a recent college graduate with a Bachelor's in IT. After graduating I landed a job for about a year, but the company went through some serious downsizing. As a result I was laid off. The good part of it all is I realized that I would much rather pursue a career in networking than PC system support, and after doing some research I decided I want to pursue a CCNA.

Given my lack of experience I was wondering if there are any certifications that you would recommend I pursue before trying for a CCNA? I'm strongly considering the Net+ and Security+, but I'd love to hear what other people who are pursuing or already are CCNA certified think. Thanks a lot! Cheers icon_cheers.gif

Ben

Comments

• Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    It's not going to hurt you to attack the CCNA. I will highly suggest you get the CCNA by doing the two part option.

ICND1 (CCENT) --> ICND2 (CCNA)

http://www.cisco.com/web/learning/le3/le2/le0/le9/learning_certification_type_home.html

RANT WARNING

In my personal opinion CompTIA certifications only help someone who is first starting out, and even then I think pursuing either Microsoft or Cisco certs is much more valuable financially and career wise.
  • Options
    Dave88LXDave88LX Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□