Options

Help setting up my home lab

Lightfoot00Lightfoot00 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey! I am just starting out to get my CCNA. My background is desktop support and system admin so I am a little familiar with networks just not in detail. I have taken a foundation lab course and have fallen in love with learning networking!

I came across so old routers at a friends company that they just gave me and wondering if I can use them to setup a basic home lab to study with.

4- 2610 routers
1- 1700 router
1- 1900 switch

From what I have read on here i think the 2600s will work but just wonder about being able to do everything with them. 3 of the routers have WIC 1DSU 56k cards in them and one has a WIC 1DSU T1 card. Is this enough to play around with frame relay and other reqs for CCNA.

Thanks in advance for your help

Comments

• Options
    odysseyeliteodysseyelite Member Posts: 504 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Thats a good start if you did not have to shell out any cash for them. I started off with some old 2500's to get the feel down and doing the basic connect 3 routers using RIP.

The 2600's that most talk about here are the XM series. They are able to run 12.4 IOS with the right about of ram.

You can connect the routers you have with the 56k T1 cards and making a T1 crossover cable like this:
    T1 Crossover Cable, Loopback Plug - Fonality Knowledge Base

You will need some newer switches. Keep an eye on Ebay for some 2950's. You can get them around 35 bucks plus shipping.

As you go pick up some newer equipment when you can. It becomes addicting to buy equipment as you will see on the board.

I have to say having a lab is worth the money invested. I never liked packet tracer. I spent this weekend updating my routers and switches and messed up putting the IOS on. Took me some time to get it working. I would have never gotten that knowelge by just dragging and dropping icons on a screen.