Anyone self taught a foreign language?

2»

Comments

• thehourmanthehourman Member Posts: 723
    Zentraedi wrote: »
    Accepted.

*Shakes head* No one really learns or becomes fluent from those. A tourist might check those out on the plane ride over, but that's it.

Seriously, what's your actual goal?
    I would like to travel to Japan and if I get lucky may be live there.

To tell you the truth, I don't even know where to start. I guess I would like to learn how to speak Japanese so that I can communicate with them, and learn how to read and so that I won't get lost.

How did you start learning the language?
    Studying:
    Working on CCNA: Security. Start date: 12.28.10
    Microsoft 70-640 - on hold (This is not taking me anywhere. I started this in October, and it is December now, I am still on page 221. WTH!)
    Reading:
    Network Warrior - Currently at Part II
    Reading IPv6 Essentials 2nd Edition - on hold
  • powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,665 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I have been doing a horrible job of teaching myself German for the past couple of years. My only saving grace is that English is a Germanic language; you can definitely tell such when thinking in terms of soundex.

I took six years of French in school and I never had much of a practical need except for once in England... a female coworker spoke Spanish as her first language, French as her second language, and English as her third. It was much easier for us both to compromise on our second languages... and it was a good thing that I essentially just had to walk her through setting her IP address (I have no idea why they weren't using DHCP).
    2024 Renew: [ ] AZ-204 [ ] AZ-305 [ ] AZ-400 [ ] AZ-500 [ ] Vault Assoc.
    2024 New: [X] AWS SAP [ ] CKA [ ] Terraform Auth/Ops Pro
  • MishraMishra Member Posts: 2,468 ■■■■□□□□□□