Options

Help Please For HND Student Project (Thank You)

wullswulls Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello , and a belated Happy new Year to all of you ,
I know this is very tame, but I am currently an HND student. I am very Cisco orientated in a geekish kind of way, and we have been given the task of creating a project from start to finish including the following; first client contact, analysing, designing, implementation, testing, documentation and deployment, etc,etc. I know you have all been here before at some point, and I do realise that this is very tame in comparison to my level of knowlege to all of yours. My thought is we all have to start somewhere, so.....

Our lecturer wants us to aim higher than what we think we could achieve, self-study, and go for it. I did this and submitted a frame-relay business-to-business scenario usng WAN and point-to-points. He told me to stay away from WAN as he hadnt really covered this fully with us.

I know this is long winded, but has anyone any good ideas on security for me to do (ie, ACL's, etc), but which is achievable for me at my level. Many, many thanks to all of you for helping out with my plea. Wulls.

Comments

• Options
    ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□
    First idea that comes to mind is designing & implementing a firewall for a company. One can start with collecting requirements (e.g. users may surf internet, but may not download files via peer-to-peer networks), then do some design work, write configuration, make test cases, and so on. One benefit for such scenario as a student project is that its scope is easily adjustable in both directions (some projects have a hidden risk of not having that luxury). Your firewall could have simple static routes, then add statefulness, DMZ servers, and eventually grow to a complex security system with multiple environments with varying trust levels between them, application-level inspecting, inline IPS, etc etc....