Options

CCNA/CCNP lab

EildorEildor Member Posts: 444
Hello :)

I'm studying for CCNA certification and would like some advice in regards to what equipment I should purchase. I may decide to pursue CCNP certification also, so I think it would be a good idea to get routers and switches that can be used for both... so long as it doesn't get too expensive.

Looking forward to hearing your suggestions!

Comments

• Options
    okplayaokplaya Member Posts: 199
    The general consensus.....

Routers - 2600XM series
    L2 Switch - 2950
    L3 Switch - 3550

Keep in mind you will need to purchase card and cables, and probably memory.

It's likely going to cost more than what you want to pay, but will be less than 1 college course in the USA which doesn't compare to a CCNP on your resume.
  • Options
    Thank you for your reply.

Is the 3550 required for CCNA? Or could I purchase the 2600XM and 2950, then purchase the 3550 when I'm ready for CCNP?

What is the recommended quantity of routers and switches?
  • Options
    alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You want at least 2 routers and 2 switches, but 3 is better. The more the merrier, but you're not getting much ROI when you get past 3 at this level.

For routers, the 2600XM's are great, but you can also consider the 1721 and 1760 models, which are considerably cheaper but still capable of running a decent IOS. I can't suggest the 2500's or 2600's (non-XM) as a 3rd or 4th router anymore since the 17xx's are so cheap now.

You do not need an L3 switch for the CCNA, 2950's are sufficient. Stay away from the 2900XL/3500XL series unless it's going to be your 3rd or 4th switch complementing a pair of 2950's. And as I've said before, I'll personally come to your home and kick you if you ever actually spend money on a 1900 switch. :D
  • Options
    I guess I'll have to go for 3 of each... I was doing a lab today in class and it required 3 routers and 3 switches.

Does this seem like a good deal: