Is it me? Or Is this book for ROUTE Confusing?

viper75viper75 Member Posts: 726 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey all,

At the moment I'm studying for the CCNP - ROUTE exam and I'm reading this book:

Amazon.com: CCNP ROUTE 642-902 Official Certification Guide (Exam Certification Guide) (9781587202537): Wendell Odom: Books

I don't know if it's me and I'm just dumb and clueless, but I find myself reading each page or paragraph 3-4 times before I can even understand a little bit of the info. on that given page. I find the wording and descriptions a little confusing. Is it me or does anyone else here feel the same?

I'm waiting for this book to arrive:

Amazon.com: Implementing Cisco IP Routing (ROUTE) Foundation Learning Guide: Foundation learning for the ROUTE 642-902 Exam (Foundation Learning Guides) (9781587058820): Diane Teare: Books

Apparently everyone recommends this book from what I have read and asked before, compared to the OCG.

Any thoughts? Am I just a tard?
CCNP Security - DONE!
CCNP R&S - In Progress...
CCIE Security - Future...

Comments

• MonkerzMonkerz Member Posts: 842
    I felt the same way as you. Bought the FLG and it is much better written.
  • tomaifauchaitomaifauchai Member Posts: 301 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm probably one of the rare who loved the Wendell book! Haven't read the FLG but so far the 2 books i've read from Odom was just superb IMO and english isn't my native lang

It's probably just a question of wording, not everyone like the same authors
  • NetwurkNetwurk Member Posts: 1,155 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I like both books. Although I think the Teare book goes into too much depth to be the first book you read for ROUTE.

You might also want to check out the Sybex book

Cisco Network Professional's Advanced Internetworking Guide (CCNP Series) - Book Information - Sybex

It doesn't cover any of the exams, but it's meant to be CCNP level and for me it is written a lot better than any of the Cisco Press books.