weird issue with EIGRP and VLAN interface

millworxmillworx Posts: 290Member
So I have my router plugged into my 3750 switch. The 3750 has vlan interface 99 configured with an IP, the connected router has ip in the same subnet. Now the issue I keep getting is with eirgrp constantly flapping. I'm kind of scratching my head.


*Apr 6 08:28:15.964: %DUAL-5-NBRCHANGE: EIGRP-IPv4 1: Neighbor 10.33.10.161 (Vlan9) is down: retry limit exceeded
*Apr 6 08:28:15.964: %DUAL-5-NBRCHANGE: EIGRP-IPv4 1: Neighbor 10.33.10.161 (Vlan9) is up: new adjacency
*Apr 6 08:28:21.836: %DUAL-5-NBRCHANGE: EIGRP-IPv4 1: Neighbor 10.33.10.164 (Vlan9) is down: Peer Termination received
*Apr 6 08:28:25.120: %DUAL-5-NBRCHANGE: EIGRP-IPv4 1: Neighbor 10.33.10.164 (Vlan9) is up: new adjacency
*Apr 6 08:28:26.728: %DUAL-5-NBRCHANGE: EIGRP-IPv4 1: Neighbor 10.33.10.163 (Vlan9) is down: Peer Termination received
*Apr 6 08:28:29.736: %DUAL-5-NBRCHANGE: EIGRP-IPv4 1: Neighbor 10.33.10.163 (Vlan9) is up: new adjacency

Here are the relevant configs, first the switch (ip routing is enabled)
vlan 9
 name outside
 
interface GigabitEthernet2/5
 switchport access vlan 9
 
interface Vlan9
 ip address 10.33.10.161 255.255.255.224
!
!
router eigrp 1
 network 10.33.10.160 0.0.0.31
 passive-interface default
 no passive-interface Vlan9
 no passive-interface GigabitEthernet2/5

Now the Router Config
interface GigabitEthernet0/0/0
 description Connect to 3750 int gig 2/5
 ip address 10.33.10.163 255.255.255.224
 no negotiation auto
 
router eigrp 1
 network 10.33.10.160 0.0.0.31
 passive-interface default
 no passive-interface GigabitEthernet0/0/0
Currently Reading:
CCIE: Network Security Principals and Practices
CCIE: Routing and Switching Exam Certification Guide

Comments

  • shodownshodown Posts: 2,271Member
    take the vlan away and turn the device into a routed port with the no switch port command and see if it works without the vlan logic.
    Currently Reading

    CUCM SRND 9x/10, UCCX SRND 10x, QOS SRND, SIP Trunking Guide, anything contact center related
  • millworxmillworx Posts: 290Member
    only issue I have with that is I going to be connecting another router to the switch in the same vlan and subnet, and it must reach the IP.
    Currently Reading:
    CCIE: Network Security Principals and Practices
    CCIE: Routing and Switching Exam Certification Guide
  • networker050184networker050184 Posts: 11,962Mod Mod
    How are the interfaces looking?
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • kurferkurfer Posts: 14Member ■□□□□□□□□□
    Turn of EIGRP debugging, run a show ip int bri and paste the results here.
  • millworxmillworx Posts: 290Member
    I ended up upgrading the IOS and things are just peachy now. It was a weird issue. I thought I had everything right first go around, but ya never know.
    Currently Reading:
    CCIE: Network Security Principals and Practices
    CCIE: Routing and Switching Exam Certification Guide
Sign In or Register to comment.