Options

Does an MCITP:EA+SA really cost $750 in testing fees??

HopelessN00bHopelessN00b Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
To make a long story short, I'm looking into getting my MCITPs for Enterprise and Server admin, to help in my job hunt during the current "jobless recovery" ( icon_rolleyes.gif ), primarily because I have a few years experience in administering large Windows server environments, and figure I already know most of the material already. In looking around the web for related materials, I discovered that the standard "testing fee" is $125... and my ability to count tells me there are 6 exams required for these certifications. Does that mean I have to shell out 6 exam fees, or about $750 total just to take these tests? icon_eek.gif

That seems rather exorbitant, even for something from MS. And if that's really the case, does anyone know any way to cut that down substantially? Like if I were to sit for all the exams on the same day... or a volume discount... (larger than the 20% for 5 exams MS cert pack) or even a buffer overflow vulnerability in Prometric's servers? I'm finding it hard to believe that the MCITP certs (at 20% off) cost 5 times as much as a CCNA.

Comments

• Options
    rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Your calculations look correct to me. You might try looking around for coupons. I don't think there is any other way to save money on the MCITP.

As far as the price, it's like an investment. If having the MCITP:EA & SA were to earn you a job making $1 more an hour than if you did not have them, then they would pay for themselves in less than a year.

I don't see how you are comparing the CCNA to the MCITP:EA & SA exams. The CCNA is an entry level certification. The MCITP is intended for people with at least two years of experience, which would put it closer to a CCNP level candidate.
  • Options
    HopelessN00bHopelessN00b Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    rsutton wrote: »