Options

Help With my Resume Need advice

gregorio323gregorio323 Member Posts: 201 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello TE board. I would like to receive some advice and maybe help strengthen my resume. I have work experience but none is relevant to IT so i only have the one that is listed in there. I also do some volunteer work as a Teacher Assistant in my local community college kinda help students with there work for the Cisco Academy. I graduated from college with my A.A. and only need 8 courses for my BA in IT Technology i am looking for a IT position whether a paid intern or a permanent position. I want to stay away from Tech recruiters and Agencies from bad experience.
Overall i just need some help with my resume to make it more stronger and appealing so it wont just get overlooked. Please help :) it will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    </3 (tear, tear, tear)icon_sad.gif
  • Options
    CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I probably wont be of much help, but I will say these few things.

In my opinion, it isn't necessary to list certs that are implied by other certs. What I mean is, you list CCENT and then CCNA. No need to list CCENT as that is sort of a pre-req for CCNA.

Another thing is related to another thread I read today. I noticed you mentioned knowledge of BGP. Is that knowledge just things like "router BGP xxx" and "network xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx"? I will come back and post the link to the thread but do you really have working knowledge of BGP at the CCNA level?

Here is the thread related to my BGP comment: http://www.techexams.net/forums/jobs-degrees/62164-some-folks-need-reality-check.html
    Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens
  • Options
    im done with the CCNP route curriculum so i have done hours of bgp scenerios i do have knowledge of the protocol. i read that post id be able to answer basic bgp questions. i feel comfort able manipulating bgp attributes.
  • Options