Options

B.S. in ISS from ITT --- your thoughts please

SFormwaltSFormwalt Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey gang!
I am currently attending ITT for my BS in ISS (Information System Security). I have 6 years of IT experience along with military experience. I left the IT field about 2 years ago due to burn out but I am working my way back towards IT. I am also looking into taking the Security+ exam to add to my resume. I just can't stay away. I am curious what others think of a BS from ITT and what doors this degree may open for me.

Any thoughts?!?!?

Thanks
Sarah

Comments

• Options
    /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    That combined with 6 years of experience should be more than enough to land you a fairly decent job.
  • Options
    xetrevxetrev Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
    personally i think ITT degree's are crap compared to a normal college degree, that is just my opinion.
  • Options
    garv221garv221 Member Posts: 1,914
    I think any degree is a good degree & one from technical college is better than that of a university.
  • Options
    /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    I've also heard bad things of ITT Tech's degrees, but I don't know personally.
  • Options
    iamstevejobsiamstevejobs Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    as an IT professional that was involved in the interview process as well as hiring of IT staff at my company it was evident that our ITT applicants were lacking. When i say lacking i dont mean in technical apptitude but more so in interview skills. If ITT taught you anything about interviewing and resume writing throw it out the window. Go with your own instincts or take part in interview seminars or other resume writing modules.

Your resume can be brilliant but if your interview bombs that resume may not even get a second look.
    -iamstevejobs
  • Options
    bluemasonbluemason Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□