Options

70-680 vs 72-680 ?

jerry7jerry7 Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I noticed that you can take certifications using student credentials (if you are a student) and get discounts. The downside of that is insteading of showing 70-680 on your transcript, it will show 72-680 (72-xxx is the prefix for the student). I just spoke with a MS Certification representative and he said that the contents are the same only the prefixs are different.

I am currently a System Admin as well a student in University.

Should I just for the regular 70-680 exam without the discount or the student discount? Personally I think 70-680 for IT PRO would be more recognized over 72-680 for :)Student.

What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance for the help!

JL

Comments

• Options
    KrunchiKrunchi Member Posts: 237
    I'm a student also and do 72 and 73 Certification test there is no difference and no the don’t show up as 70-680 they show up as

Exam ID Description Date Completed

5031 CompTIA A+ April 29, 2011

4990 CompTIA Network+ April 29, 2011

620 TS: Configuring Microsoft Windows Vista Client February 18, 2011

This is my transcript from Microsoft as you can see it only shows as 620 and not 70,72,73 -620 the only difference from 70 72 and 73 is how it was payed and discounted 70 is the Normal $125.00 and 72 and 73 are $60.00 student discount.

If go through Prometric I get a 72-??? test if a pay at my school for some reason its 73-???.

In the end it's the same test and same certification and only shows up as 680 on your certificate and transcript.
    Certifications: A+,Net+,MCTS-620,640,642,643,659,MCITP-622,623,646,647,MCSE-246
  • Options
    Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□
    its the same credential on your transcript no difference. how are you a sys admin?
    2019 Goals
    CompTIA Linux+
    [ ] Bachelor's Degree
  • Options