Options

Can't join to Virtual Domain

Moki99Moki99 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey,

Please do bear with me, I'm extremely new to IT. I came across this thread http://www.techexams.net/forums/jobs-degrees/63356-best-way-learn-server-technology.html and it inspired me to get some things going at home so I can learn more.

Anyway, here is the situation. I installed and set up Windows Server 2008 using VMware player. The network adapter settings are Bridged and Replicated. I ran windows update and installed many roles/features including DNS. I ran the dcpromo to setup the domain controller and the new domain name. My goal is to connect the 6 PC's I have here at home to this one domain. When I try joining the domain with the PC hosting the virtual, I get the error saying the domain could not be contacted. The DNS Services are running. I can ping both ways but still can't join the domain.

What am I missing? Please let me know if you need anymore information from me. ANY information will be greatly appreciated thank you!

Comments

• Options
    XantchaXantcha Member Posts: 64 ■■□□□□□□□□
    The first thing would be to check the firewall of the server 2008 system.
  • Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Moki99 wrote: »
    Hey,

Please do bear with me, I'm extremely new to IT. I came across this thread http://www.techexams.net/forums/jobs-degrees/63356-best-way-learn-server-technology.html and it inspired me to get some things going at home so I can learn more.