Options

CCENT advice

MrXpertMrXpert Member Posts: 586 ■■■□□□□□□□
one of my options is whether to study for the ccent and assuming i pass that go onto ccna. I have very little networking experience other than comptia network+ which i passed last month. I have no exposure to cisco devices.

i did read somewhere on chris bryants website that CISCO are changing their exams. Not sure whether this would effect me or the study guides i buy but would the following be a good book to buy?

http://www.ciscopress.com/bookstore/product.asp?isbn=1587202174

i do have cbt nuggets ccna course but its dated 2007.

and whats the best way to get experience troubleshooting cisco stuff? please bear in mine i dont have the funds to buy cisco equipment.
I'm an Xpert at nothing apart from remembering useless information that nobody else cares about.

Comments

• Options
    alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    MrXpert wrote: »
    one of my options is whether to study for the ccent and assuming i pass that go onto ccna. I have very little networking experience other than comptia network+ which i passed last month. I have no exposure to cisco devices.

i did read somewhere on chris bryants website that CISCO are changing their exams. Not sure whether this would effect me or the study guides i buy but would the following be a good book to buy?

CCENT 640-822 Network Simulator: Software Download

i do have cbt nuggets ccna course but its dated 2007.

and whats the best way to get experience troubleshooting cisco stuff? please bear in mine i dont have the funds to buy cisco equipment.

As far as I know, Cisco has not announced any changes to the CCENT or the CCNA. There have been some other exams changed recently, but not the CCNA/CCENT. And if they do change anything, there is always a grace period to still take to older exam for those who have already started working on it. With that in mind, the current CBT Nuggets are still valid and still highly thought of.