Options

IT Career Advice: Where do I start?

CubanicousCubanicous Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Two years ago I was going to community college for an assoicate's degree in Computer Information Systems. I have decided to go back to school and change my career (currently I am a Mall Cop). I wanted to go to WGU, but I don't meet the admission requirements, I have no degree or any certifications. I also want to change my career in the next 6 months and find an entry level job in IT. Computer networking and network security are what I want to specialize in.

So which certifications should I go for?

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Welcome to the site!

Focus on finding that first job as much as you would on getting a certification. If you have no background in computers, you should begin with the CompTIA A+/Network+ certifications, both entry-level and should get your resume looked at by HR. Spend some time on the resume too.

Another word of advice, IT can be quite difficult to break into. It might take you a month or could take you a year, cold and harsh reality. It took me 10 months to find my first IT gig in spite of having an MS under by belt. Do not get discouraged easily, keep firing out the resume and work away on those certs.

Good luck!
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Hey buddy!

I need a little more information from you? Where have you been and where do you want to go? And what kind of learner are you?

Generally people are going to start with A+, Network+ and now days Apple Certified Support Professional. They are easy enough certs to earn and they will open your eyes to what is out there. And the material is plentiful.
    -Daniel
  • Options
    CubanicousCubanicous Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□