Options

IT Starter Career Advice

IT_ManIT_Man Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ive been working in Corporate for around 6 years and I want to move out into IT.

Ive done A+ but I now have the option to either do an MCITP: Desktop Administrator & MCSA, OR, for roughly the same amount of money excluding exam fees, I can just go ahead and do the MCITP: Enterprise Administrator.

Im not quite sure which route to take. I have an agreement with a company that if I can pass two exams I can get a 6 week placement with an IT firm.

I'd much rather start the Enterprise route but if that's a beastly exam it'll take longer to pass, so not quite sure what to do.

Any advice would be appreciated,

thnx again, H

Comments

• Options
    drew2000drew2000 Member Posts: 290
    My advice would be to go the Desktop route, unless you have experience in an Enterprise (DC's, GPO, DHCP, DNS, VPN, etc.).

You are setting yourself up for a more difficult journey by heading into the Enterprise stuff unless you have a lot of experience with it.

I would say get your initial certs and get the 6 week placement. Then work hard and knock their socks off and try to get a year or so out of your first job.

Sometime after 1-2 years in desktop, start working your way up into the Enterprise.

Just my $.02...Drew
  • Options
    IT_ManIT_Man Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Fabulous!

Many many thanks.
  • Options
    Jander1023Jander1023 Member Posts: 160
    My 2 cents...

I am doing the MCITP-SA, Win7 Desktop Admin and the EA. However, if you want to get the Win7 Desktop Admin you will need a solid understanding of AD and Server 08. I took the 640 and 642 before doing the 686 and that knowledge was very valuable. Not sure I pass that exam without it. (Btw, I failed the 686 twice even with having already passed the 640 and 642.)