Options

I suck at linux.

But I bought the Sybex LPIC-1 book from Amazon tonight (after a couple drinks). Before long I'll be worthy. Maybe.

I have no idea If I'll ever take the exam, but I've been playing with Ubuntu for 4 years and after trying to uninstall some wifi drivers on one of my desktops and failing miserably I realized I suck.

:D

I realisex in my half soberness that there are two types of people in this world.. Those who can bash, and those who can't..

Comments

• Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I suck at linux too. I don't use it alot and writing bash scripts in class was very tough for me.

If you suck at something then practice and get better. You can do it!!!
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Couldn't agree more, the more you use it the better you will get at it. I've been using linux for a while now (not fulltime, but enough to be pretty comfortable with it) and I'll find myself hating not getting to use the command line as much in Windows. Practice makes perfect!
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    driver support under linux has always been a little flaky, sound and wireless in particular. That's mostly the fault of the manufacturers making it difficult to actually write linux based drivers without having to reverse engineer everything. It's getting better though.

With that being said, yes, getting software to work under linux can often involve a bit more than just clicking i accept to the eula and clicking next a whole lot ;)
  • Options
    chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□