New to Cisco and networking

ArmymanisArmymanis Member Posts: 304
Most of my knowledge is desktop/laptop PC repair. I am very new to the IT world and would like to get the Cisco CCNET and the CCNA.

What books do you recommend would be good to study for the exam? I am also looking at online lab simulation products. Which is the best?

Please list all the resources I need in order to practice the material and learn it!

My school also offers Cisco classes:

NSCOM 201/202 (Cisco Networking I & II) :

Course provides foundation knowledge in networking. Topics include: network topologies, OSI model, design and documentation, LANs, network media, protocols and routing.

NSCOM 203/204 (Cisco Networking III & IV) :

Course uses Cisco internetworking hardware to gain hands-on experience in
designing and configuring a local area network (LAN). Topics include OSI
model, LAN switching, virtual LANs, LAN design, routing protocols, access
control lists, Novell Internetwork Packet Exchange (IPX) and network
management.

Should I take these before deciding to dive into studying for the certifications?

Please list all the material I should obtain so I can pass the CCNET and learn the information :D

Comments

• sthompson86sthompson86 Member Posts: 370
    For the CCENT I used:

Cisco Press ICND1 by Wendell Odom
    Sybex CCENT ICND1 By Todd Lammle
    CBT Nugget Videos
    Packet Tracer
    Real Hardware lab.

I took a similar class to your NSCOM 201/202 (Cisco Networking I & II) class and that is what got me hooked on networking. Most of my class mates hated it, but I loved it.
    Currently Reading: Again to Carthage - CCNA/Security
  • alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The classes and a little review after them will be more than enough to pass the CCENT and/or CCNA.
  • TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Armymanis wrote: »