Options

Whats the best way to upgrade

PD75PD75 Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
Im going to do my first upgrade this week.
I intend to go from Win98 to Xp.

Should i wipe Win 98 off the computer in question and install XP or should i install XP over the top of Win 98?

Whats the best way to go. Remember im a novice at this sort of thing.

Cheers guys! :D

Comments

• Options
    PD75PD75 Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
    What??? Nobody knows????? lol :)
  • Options
    gravyjoegravyjoe Member Posts: 260
    I have always heard that it is better to do a clean install. I tried upgrading Win98 to Win2000 once, which wasn't successful. I think it had something to do with my Win98 partition originally cloned by the original owner of the computer. Anyways, I did a clean install and it worked out fine, so I'm guessing that WinXP would work out the same way. That's just my 2 cents on it.
    The biggest risk in life is not taking one.
  • Options
    Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    I always recco doing a clean install. I use a seperate boot disk to format the drive, and start anew.
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • Options
    dsa1971dsa1971 Member Posts: 52 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I always do clean installs when I upgrade my OS. It makes life so much easier and you get to go back and install only the apps you really use getting rid of all the apps you never use but also never uninstall.
  • Options
    darkmagicdarkmagic Member Posts: 127
    gravyjoe wrote:
    I think it had something to do with my Win98 partition originally cloned by the original owner of the computer.

I am sorry but i could not understand what did you mean by that.

Also, i upgraded my computer from Win98 to WinXP & it worked fine, but yeah i also agree that its always better to do a clean install to have that clean feeling, also if you are doing an upgrade, & you click on yes to store the uninstall information, it takes up a lot of space unneccesarily on your hard-disk, which you seldom need.