What cert first? Im new to IT.

Suburban RatSuburban Rat Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Exactly what title reads. Ive posted before and got some great responses. I need more input! Im that trucker wanting out of my truck and into an office being the computer nerd. I want to start working on a cert. Is the A+ the way to go? What do you guys think?

Comments

• ibcritnibcritn Member Posts: 340
    Starting out A+ introduces you to quite a foundation of PC repair and introduces you to some networking concepts. Looking back I regret spending the $$ on A+, but having said that it could help you land an entry-level IT support role.

The most important step is that you start studying and get as much hands on as you can through the use of labs. Install VMware player to get your feet wet and practice building VMs installing software, etc.

As you start to learn more and more you will start to understand your career goals more and more.

A typical progression for a Systems level role:
    Help Desk (A+/Net+) > T2 Support Role (MCTS) > Jr. Admin (MCITP) > Admin

You might find servers aren't your thing and could head down the networking path: Network+ > CCENT > CCNA which could help you land an Entry-level Network Operations Center (NOC) Support role.

So to sum it all up if you are really new to IT/Technology A+ material will help, but if you have a fundamental understanding of PC HW / OS's you could jump right into Network+. As the knowledge of TCP/IP and how device A talks to device B will help with any route you take.
    CISSP | GCIH | CEH | CNDA | LPT | ECSA | CCENT | MCTS | A+ | Net+ | Sec+

Next Up: Linux+/RHCSA, GCIA
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Exactly what title reads. Ive posted before and got some great responses. I need more input! Im that trucker wanting out of my truck and into an office being the computer nerd. I want to start working on a cert. Is the A+ the way to go? What do you guys think?