Complete newbie - how to start?

lm10lm10 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I am a junior year college student and a complete noob with any Cisco products or routers.

My area of interest is network security and since my college is really crappy, I need to do serious self study to make myself employable. Now I have posted earlier enquiring about the SSCP and CISSP certifications, and the general recommendation was that CCNA would be a much better place to start.

I got the book by Todd Lammle, sixth edition. However, I got thoroughly demoralized when I tried to wrestle with the assessment test at the beginning - I knew maybe 2 questions out of the 20 odd present.

So my question is - being such a big newbie, how should I start with this book? Which chapters should be given the maximum amount of attention? In short, a concise plan of action would be highly appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• Todd BurrellTodd Burrell Member Posts: 280
    Even though I have some other certs and a good deal of work experience, I am not far ahead of you when it comes to routers and switches. Right now if I took the 640-802 test I would probably get 20-30% right.

Having said that, my advice would be to setup a small lab and play around some. You can setup a decent lab for $100-$200 and you can probably get 2 2620XM routers and 2 2950 switches for less than $300 on Ebay. I have learned more with the hands on stuff that I could ever learn from the books.

I would also recommend getting both the Lammle and Odom books. For every cert exam I have tried to get at least 2 sources... And use this forum - this place is a gold mine for info and someone will always know the answer to your issue here.

The main thing to remember for any IT cert is that you may start reading the book and not feel like you know anything - just keep reading and studying. It will all start to sink in and before you know it you will be nailing the practice tests.

Good luck...