Best CCENT book for a 16 yr old

2»

Comments

• tek2advancedtek2advanced Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
    ccnaomkar wrote: »
    wendell odom book with packet tracer or gns3 or lab

packetlife.net is a free lab

u have to register and schedule ur time

This is probably your most cost effective solution since it is FREE. However, you miss out on the research that you do when you buy/put together your own LAB.
    EastDallas wrote: »
    I just bought a WS-C2950C 2 weeks ago for $32 including shipping on ebay.

That's a great deal, was it a 24 or 48 port? Which Image did it come with?
    Anoop99 wrote: »
    1. What is the most economical way i can setup a Practice Lab for myself?

2. How much am i looking to spend to set it all up?

3. If possible could someone give me some advice on what products to buy?

sorry for all the questions, I have never done any of this before...

And thanks again really appreciate the help from everyone

To answer your 3 questions, I'd recommend starting off with the following:

2 x 1721's ($50/each)
    2 x WIC-2T ($30-$40/each)
    1 x DCE/DTE Smart Serial Cable ($8.00)
    1 x 2950 ($30-$50)
    ===========
    Expect to pay the following:
    Low End = $198
    Upper End = $238

Then build up your LAB as you go from there.. It would also be nice to have at least 2 Computers to use for pinging and IP assignments.

And if you don't have a DB9 Serial Port built-into any of your Computers (This port is unavailable on most or all new consumer computer products), expect to spend $20 or more on a USB to Serial Converter.
  • alxxalxx Member Posts: 755
    keep an eye on ebay , be very patient and don't be in a hurry
    I managed to pick up a 1721 for 1.99 + 9 p&h 2 weeks ago (about 13 US)
    http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260796017374&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

a 1720 for $20 with p&h (about US$22)
    Cisco 1720 Router with WIC-1T (eBay item 200616337293 end time 10-Jun-11 17:51:28 AEST) : Computers