Options

Should I switch back to Linux? (gaming oriented question)

ehndeehnde Member Posts: 1,103
The following describes a first world problem (if you don't know what I'm talking about see First World Problems: Button, button, who has the button? for a list of examples):

I've been using Linux for about 10 years and for the longest time I loved it. When I was in college I needed so many applications for school that would only work on Windows and spent so much time playing games that I found it more convenient to buy a Windows 7 license and convert to the dark side. At that time I needed the following:
  • visio
  • Microsoft Access
  • ESXi
  • Nookstudy
  • Internet Explorer (Microsoft labs)
....probably countless others. I was also playing WoW (I've quit) and later League of Legends. LoL does not work at all on linux. I checked it in the Wine AppDB - it has a rating of garbage.

Now the only thing I'd be missing at this point if I completely demolish windows and switch back to linux would be LoL. It's a RTS MMO and is not feasible to run in a virtual machine.

What games do you guys enjoy playing on Linux? I would need to fill the void of League of Legends, which I play about one match per day lasting 30 minutes. Free is best, but I might be willing to pay a bit if the game is really worth it.

I'm looking for a game that you can play online with other people that runs on Linux, hopefully free.
Climb a mountain, tell no one.

Comments

• Options
    WafflesAndRootbeerWafflesAndRootbeer Member Posts: 555
    Gaming on Linux is pretty limited. You've got WINE, a pile of Linux open source FPS/Sims, half-assed RPGs, and some random Linux games that don't do much but amuse you.
  • Options
    Thanks for the input guys. I looked around a bit and in case anyone would like to try it out: Savage 2 - A Tortured Soul

Looks awesome and it runs on linux!
  • Options
    instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745