Options

Best Beginning Powershell Book

the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
What book would you guy say to start with? I have a limited programming background so looking for that true beginner kind of book. Thanks in advance!
WIP:
PHP
Kotlin
Intro to Discrete Math
Programming Languages
Work stuff

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Powershell for the absolute beginner - is what I am reading. I think it's good.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • Options
    TheShadowTheShadow Member Posts: 1,057 ■■■■■■□□□□
    There is another one for people with some fear of programming by Don Jones a PowerShell MVP. He wrote powershell courseware for Microsoft and assumes no prior experience.

Redirect to Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches

It is around 300 actual text pages 336 total and looks at powershell from an administrators viewpoint building you up slowly in 28 bite size chunks so that you can pick it up and put it down in bursts. Don also did the CBT Nuggets videos on powershell.
    Who knows what evil lurks in the heart of technology?... The Shadow DO
  • Options
    undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    My recommendation would go to Windows Powershell in Action by Bruce Payette. I found that one to be pretty good working up from the basics. Unfortunately I haven't looked at the second edition of it but hopefully it would still be just as good.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • Options
    RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    undomiel wrote: »
    My recommendation would go to Windows Powershell in Action by Bruce Payette. I found that one to be pretty good working up from the basics. Unfortunately I haven't looked at the second edition of it but hopefully it would still be just as good.