Sun StorEdge A5000 for home lab

ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□
Hi guys,

I've come across a package on sale: Sun StorEdge A5000 + FC switch + FC card + cables, the whole package for $100.
Now thinking whether to buy it to get some hands-on experience with FC SAN, and welcoming your opinions.

I have zero experience with FC SAN beyond theoretical knowledge (got some experience with iSCSI). And while I have little interest in storage and don't see myself becoming a storage admin, it seems that as I'm advancing into more senior sys admin/engineer positions, at least some kind of exposure would be helpful down the road - when asked "what SAN experience do you have?", "I read about it" is not the most impressive answer :) and therefore I would like to change that part.

With that being said, do you think this lab set up would be helpful? Will it give any hands-on experience that is applicable in real world? Is this ~10 year-old hardware obsolete by now, or this kind of technology is still actively used in production out there?

As always, TIA for your time.
“You don’t become great by trying to be great. You become great by wanting to do something, and then doing it so hard that you become great in the process.” (c) xkcd #896

GetCertified4Less
- discounted vouchers for certs

Comments

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    ChooseLife wrote: »
    this kind of technology is still actively used in production out there?

Surprisingly yes I see it, but it's very rare now. Hmm, 100$ is nothing, so I think you should go ahead and buy it. However, I don't think it will give you relevant experience in today's SANs. I would use this storage to learn more about volume managers in a certain OS for example, rather than learning anything about FC/SAN.