Options

Core was more difficult than expected

tb0932tb0932 Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just passed the core (with 595 so didn't exactly ace it) and found it a lot harder than I had thought it would be. There were a lot of questions I hadn't come across on any of the exams from this site, michael meyers' CD, mcmcse, or freetests. About half of the questions were troubleshooting, many of which I had to guess. Lots of the networking and peripherals questions used product specs and abbreviations I don't remember coming across. Not one IRQ / I/O question. I studied a lot (or so I thought) and still lots of stuff stumped me. Maybe if you work with this stuff, you will find it a lot easier than those of us who just use books & tests. Thanks for the tests and tips on this site. Gotta get revising for the OS now... :o

Comments

• Options
    janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    Congrats on the pass!
    "It doesn't matter, it's in the past!"--Rafiki
  • Options
    tb0932tb0932 Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thank you! It feels great to get it under my belt. Kept putting off the exam thinking I wasn't ready. At some point you just have to put the notes away and give it a try.
  • Options
    jjfalconerjjfalconer Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    tb0932 wrote:
    Thank you! It feels great to get it under my belt. Kept putting off the exam thinking I wasn't ready. At some point you just have to put the notes away and give it a try.

I'm going to take the Core Hardware Test on Friday and this is the same way I was. I have been doing PC repair for about 7 years now and studing for the Core Hardware test has really help.

Thanks for the Infomation on the test

Thanks,

Justin
  • Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Congrats on the pass!

tb0932 wrote:
    Maybe if you work with this stuff, you will find it a lot easier than those of us who just use books & tests.

From the COMPTIA Objectives:
    icon_idea.gif