What traditional degree should a future network engineer pursue?

ck86ck86 Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm attending a community college right now knocking out my general education and debating between a few different paths for my bachelors degree. I figure I could do business administration mixed with heavy certs/experience for a good management position.. computer science for an overall good IT degree, or electrical & computer engineering to have extensive hardware knowledge. Would any of the 3 really work in the higher end network jobs, or is a specific one required for top network positions?

Comments

• toshinden5toshinden5 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
    More computer science or electrical engineering degree should be the best fit, but any of the 3 will do as it relates to technology. I have a degree in EE but I should have gone for computer info system which is computer business.
  • hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
    kasel23 wrote: »
    I'm attending a community college right now knocking out my general education and debating between a few different paths for my bachelors degree. I figure I could do business administration mixed with heavy certs/experience for a good management position.. computer science for an overall good IT degree, or electrical & computer engineering to have extensive hardware knowledge. Would any of the 3 really work in the higher end network jobs, or is a specific one required for top network positions?

I see you are a fellow Jerseyan. In my opinion, you are better off going for a bachelor degree in either network administration or telecommunications engineering. Those degree programs should have at least some network engineering works involved.
  • nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    a one that interests you :)
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking
  • Cisco InfernoCisco Inferno Member Posts: 1,034 ■■■■■■□□□□