Options

Interview for Web Developer-No Experience

New2ITinCaliNew2ITinCali Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all, I had an initial phone interview for a position as a Web Developer. I received a call back stating that I was one of the top candidates and they scheduled me for another interview. I am very nervous because I have no experience other than school (BA.MIT) and personal programming projects I developed for fun, but I have never done anything web based. I feel intimidated because I checked the company's website and it looks as if the current staff all have extensive IT backgrounds. I have been working as a government accountant for the last 4 years and while I was in school I decided to change my major from accounting to IT. Has anyone else ever had an luck on gaining an entry-level IT position fresh out of college with no real-world IT experience?

Comments

• Options
    whatthehellwhatthehell Member Posts: 920
    A lot of the times, the massive list of qualifications that coworkers state they have may not equal the intelligence or the competence of that employee. Definitely not knocking certs at all, but the point of me saying that is your shouldn't feel intimidated. Just try your best, try to learn as much as possible, as quickly as possible, and let the job play out as it may.

Good luck!
    2017 Goals:
    [ ] Security + [ ] 74-409 [ ] CEH
    Future Goals:
    TBD
  • Options
    New2ITinCaliNew2ITinCali Member Posts: 184 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It looks like I bombed my interview icon_cry.gif

I studied so hard and they didn't even ask me not 1 technical question! I was thrown off and very disappointed. Every question pertained to business/management, such as "What style of management do you work best under?" ... That was first time seeking out an IT job so I can't be hard on myself, but is this usual for IT interviews not to ask technical, IT related qestions but rather business/management questions?
  • Options