Options

How to get a IT job with no experience?

Mind_SculptorMind_Sculptor Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
How do you get a IT job was no experience? Even entry level job requires experience.... This is frustrating. icon_sad.gif

I have a bachelors in IT, still no luck...

Comments

• Options
    EdenEden Registered Users Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I was in your shoes 3 years ago. I landed a entry level support job in 08 after searching for 8 months.

It helps if you know people in the industry. I got my foot in the door by applying to many job postings on career builder. I probably applied to hundreds of job postings and got a hand ful of interviews.

I got hired and the company's warehouse was right down the road from me! Corp office a half hour away from my me.

I would give staffing companies a shot if you are having no luck with companies directly interviewing you.

Your lab time at school should count as some experience.

Cheers
  • Options
    Thanks for the advice Eden, really appreciate it. :D
  • Options
    kast1kast1 Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Same with me. I don't have no IT experience and will soon get a bachelor in CIS. I currently work for a large corporation, in the warehouse and I am somewhat close to the warehouse manager. I had a talk to him about wanting to volunteer or do an internship with computers.

As of now, I am getting a few opportunity here and there to work with computers at my job, while maintaining my original job. This is my method for getting some IT experience.

Most of the job I did was basic, a few times a month, and so on. I plan on keeping this up until I finish with my degree, and get certified in CCNA.

Also, this gave me an opportunity to network with the IT guys, luckily I have met all great people.They are all friendly and letting me know much about the system.
  • Options
    CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□