Cisco Certifications

BlackoutBlackout Member Posts: 512 ■■■■□□□□□□
I have finished my CompTIA goals and decided to take the dive into CCNA, I plan to do the ICND1&2 separately. I have never worked in the IT field before let alone any type of Cisco gear do you think its possible to do this without experienceicon_confused.gif:
Current Certification Path: CCNA, CCNP Security, CCDA, CCIE Security

"Practice doesn't make perfect. Perfect practice makes perfect"

Vincent Thomas "Vince" Lombardi

Comments

• GOZCUGOZCU Member Posts: 234
    Blackout wrote: »
    I have finished my CompTIA goals and decided to take the dive into CCNA, I plan to do the ICND1&2 separately. I have never worked in the IT field before let alone any type of Cisco gear do you think its possible to do this without experienceicon_confused.gif:

Sure, don't worry about getting a certificate if you are willing to Study

CBT videos
    Sybex- Todd Lammle book
    and a simulation (like a packet tracer)

will be definetely enough to achieve this goal....
  • BlackoutBlackout Member Posts: 512 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I had read some good things about netsim so decided to give it a shot, anything wrong with netsim?

• alxxalxx Member Posts: 755
    Yes.

But you may want to get some hardware for a home lab to get some hands on experience.

Some people pass with only using simulators (packet tracer , gsn3(free)) but if you have never used cisco equipment you will want to get some hands on experience
    especially if you want to use it to go for a networking job

You could just get a few switches and use gsn3 to simulate the routers
    or get 2 to 3 routers and 2 to 3 switches.

Can expect to spend between $250 to 500 for a reasonable lab set up
    depending on what hardware you go for.

1721's or 1751's can go for as little as 0.99 + p&h
    1760's
    2600xm's

switches
    2950's
    and at least 1 or 2 3550's (L3)
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
    alxx wrote: »
    Yes.