CCNA through CCNA:SEC lab

osJoeosJoe Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm only going to be taking CCNA and CCNA:Sec. I'm looking for a simple lab that that will take me through these two exams. I don't need for the lab to cover every single topic, just enough to get me through and get some hands on experience. I'm also short on money, so I've come up with the following, any feedback at all would be really helpful, thanks so much!

2 Routers, 2501's
1 Switch, 2950

Comments

• EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Given I have limited Cisco knowledge, but you need 2 of those switches. If I can remember correctly, you need 2 switches to practice Spanning Tree. You can use Dynamips, but you are going to need IOS's for the devices.

Just ensure whatever device you buy has an IOS installed on it, the exams currently test on 12.4, so you are going to need this version. Anything prior to this version and you will not be able to execute all the commands.

I'm sure all the Cisco guys will chime in shortly, but this was my opinion.
    NSX, NSX, more NSX..

Blog >> http://virtual10.com
  • alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    For the CCNA, the 2500's will do almost everything. The two big things that they're missing is SDM and inter-VLAN routing. You can use the SDM simulator, so it's down to inter-VLAN routing you'll be missing out on. You'll find a command here and there missing as well, but those are the only major things. As far as switches, you'll want at least one more. Another 2950 will be ideal, but if money is tight, a 2900XL can be found real cheap and will do 80% - 90% of what a 2950 can do.

For the CCNA Security, the 2500 routers just aren't going to cut it. You can pick up a 1721 or 1760 for $50 or less that will suffice. There's just too much SDM on the CCNA Security and the 2500's cant do it. For switching, there's little that your 2950 cannot do, and I don't recall any multi-switch scenarios when taking the CCNA Security class.