Options

Going in for my interview tomorrow...

JohnerJohner Registered Users Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Title says it all, and I'm getting those pre-most important meeting of you life jitters. I found this forums just the other night in a mad search for some footing on the subject.

The position is in my hometown. The company has damn near a monopoly on the cities data, phone, and cable. Meaning if I screw up here I'm well and surely buggered. The position is for the overnight NOC center. That is about the extent of my knowledge on the subject. I have a family member working in a nearby department and I got an early interview because of it.

The reason I'm so nervous is I've got zero certs. I've got no formal training on networking or system management. Everything I know is self taught and more along the lines of buildings PCs. She informed me however they take entry level candidates all the time however.

Does this sound normal? I cannot tell if I'm tackling a phone job where I assist people whom cannot find the internet explorer icon or will they let me drive the bus at night?

Also if I do get the job, what are some of the basic need to have certs in this industry? I haven't attended college yet because I've seen some many people blow 60k and 4 years switching their major every other semester and ending up with a Degree in Xeno Theology.

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Welcome to the forums!

It is normal to have pre-interview butterflies. Just be your usual self, speak slowly and coherently, shave, shower, dress pants and shirt, perhaps a tie. If it's a chick that'll be interviewing you, ensure you trim your nails too, trust me those women look at your nails. I mean dont go painting them, but just clean. BTW, what's the job description? If it's an overnight gig, it may not be a phone based role at all, more like raising tickets, doing some basic Level 1 stuff, replacing failed HDD, you know basic stuff.