Options

Is WGU my best option?

ogrimmmogrimmm Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ok guys I'm looking to get a little advice and after reading tons of posts on here I think this would be the best place. Here's my situation -

I have an Associates Degree in Information Systems from 1999. After that I got a Bachelors Degree in a non-IT field. I worked as an IT Tech for 2 1/2 years. However since '03 I have been working in a non-IT field. I got my A+ certification this spring hoping that it would help me get my foot back in the door. I've applied for 50 or so jobs over the past year, and have only had 1 interview. I've researched and read reviews here about WGU and it sounds very appealing for my situation. I see the biggest drawback is my lack of current experience in IT, so I was wondering if getting a Bachelors in IT from WGU along with the certs included would put me over the hump and enable me to get a job back in IT.

Thanks in advance for the input.
Enrolled @ WGU in BS IT: Network Administration 10/2011
Courses Transferred: BAC1, BBC1, LAE1, LUT1, LAT1, AXV1, TTV1, INC1, INT1, SST1, SSC1, GAC1, HHT1, QLT1, IWC1, ITW1, CLC1
Courses Completed: EWB2, WFV1, TNV1, TSV1, TPV1
Courses Left: BOV1, LET1, ORC1, BRV1, MGC1, ABV1, AHV1, AIV1, AJV1, TWA1, CPW2

Comments

• Options
    jch0411jch0411 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I looked at UMUC and WGU. I took a class at UMUC. Both are good choices. I just entered the WGU MSISA grad program. Heres why I favor WGU:

- Total disclosure of textbooks, learning style, course content, resources available
    - Excellent online distance education system (MyWGU) that keeps you informed of all important aspects of your coursework and program.
    - Industry certifications earned in some courses, cert test cost is provided
    - Regional accreditation (the only kind that counts)
    - Coursework certified to comply with CNSS
    - Written thesis and oral defense of thesis