Options

How long did you study for 70-680 before taking the exam?

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
I have gone through all the Messer nuggets and have been going through the MS 70-680 book. I also have been labbing in VM sessions.

This thing seems like it could take 6 months to get ready for. I'll be honest I thought going in, it could be done in 1-2 months. Without serious admin knowledge this is an uphill battle.

Any secrets to this?

I've installed dual boot, and done all the different types of installs including an install off a USB to a netbook. I've start to set up a network share on a VM session of server 2008 180 day trial.

Do you think labbing 70-80% of the time would be enough or should the mix be closer to 50/50?

Comments

• Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I studied for about 2 months. I spent most of my time labbing through the exam objectives and reading up in Technet for clarification. The MS press 680 was poorly written, so you'll need another source, if using that one.

I found that reading through some of the material on the 686 exam helped later on with getting some of the concepts, I wished I had gone through the 686 at the same time I was going through the 680, as that would have cleared up some things for me.
  • Options
    MrAgentMrAgent Member Posts: 1,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    1 week here... I used the MS Press book... but I also barely passed with a 700. I used the free voucher from dreamspark, and I only had a week before it expired other wise I would have studied longer.
  • Options
    MokilokMokilok Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    3 weeks here. I used the William Panek Cybex book but it had a few errors so I would recommend finding something better if you can.

Also I was lucky in that I had access to server 2008 R2 Technology at work so I already had some experience in this area. This exam relies heavily upon technology that wouldn't even ordinarily be used by a Technician as such.