Options

What cert next please?

1233412334 Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, I have been an IT person for 13 years now. Most of my experience has been in Desktop Support and I have never been able to get a job outside of that scope without taking a pay cut. (Pay is super important to me...just being honest) A few years ago, I got into application packaging using HP Radia/Novadigm. I was offered a few SCCM/Wise positions in the past based upon the fact that I know how to package and deploy applications but I did not accept the positions for personal reasons. It seems like "Desktop" positions weren't the "thing" a few years ago but now I work as a gov't contractor in the DC area for a major entity as a Desktop Engineer and there are plenty of great paying opportunities.

My career started long ago with my A+, N+, and MCP on NT 4.0. I also went to technical school 2 years and then College for 2 years because I couldn't afford a Bachelor's degree outright. I can always claim equivalent to a Bachelor's degree and have never had anyone argue with me.

Around 2000, I decided to stop certifying because I made enough money and didn't see the above 3 certs raising my earnings so I gave up.

Many years passed and I could not get an employer to reimburse me for anything and I was down on my luck so I was FAR too broke to certify.

In 2010, I obtained employment which allowed me to certify to meet the DOD-8570 directive by obtaining my Sec+. I took the Security+ and was immediately given part time duties as an ISSO. My duties weren't of the status qo. I basically worked with GPOs and reverse engineered them. I also did very junior things on a need to know basis.

I left that entity and obtained a job working with SCCM. I got my employer to pay for my 70-680 exam and paid for my 70-686 getting me MCTS and MCITP Desktop Administrator.