Options

Questions about my home lab.

nastynate604nastynate604 Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
I just recently received my used 2600XM router. I am a total noobie to this so please bear with me. My current home network consists of 4 computers. 1 PC, 2 Laptops, 1 Netbook. The Laptops and Netbook are all wireless and get their signal from my ISP's CISCO DPC3825 cable modem/router. The modem also has ports built in for wired connections which I currently have my PC plugged in to. What I want to do is connect my 2600XM Router to the cable modem and have my PC connected to the router. I want my other Laptops/Netbook to stay connected to the wireless network. Is this even possible? Need some suggestions. Thanks!

N

Comments

• Options
    martell1000martell1000 Member Posts: 389
    sure. you can connect your router to one of the switchports. and the pc/another switch to the router. kepp in mind that you pc will be on another subnet and you need to configure a routing protocol / static routes to get to your internet router.
    And then, I started a blog ...
  • Options
    Cool. Just wanted to make sure it was possible. So from my Router to the cable modem, I would use a crossover cable from the fastethernet port to a port on the cable modem. Then I would need to go serial from my Router to a Switch, and then Straight Cable from my PC to the switch?
  • Options
    the ethernetports on your internetrouter are switchports, so you need a straight thru to the 2600, from the 2600 you can go with another straight thru to a switch, or with a crossover direktly to your pc (if i remember my icnd1 stuff right :))
  • Options
    Ok, so here is my issue. On the back of my router I only have one Fast Ethernet port. I also have an AUX port, and a Console Port. If I use the FastEthernet port with a straight cable to go from my 2600 Router to the InternetRouter (cable modem) how do I then connect my 2600 Router to a switch? Sorry for such ridiculous questions, I appreciate the help.