ICND2 Failed

Version4Version4 Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
Wow what a humiliating and embarrassing experience the ICND2 exam was. Maybe I am a wannabe like a previous poster stated or I just like taking expensive practice tests icon_cheers.gif

Some background information for you... I have been working in IT over 10 years, primarily in the helpdesk doing network support specifically with Cisco routers, switches, and access points. I went to college for networking and was a part of the Cisco Networking Academy. I passed my CCNA composite with flying colors way back then before my career started.

The CCNA expired due to life reasons. I had the opportunity to pursue education again in 2010 so I studied and took the ICND1, it was a fair exam and I passed with a good score. Fast forward to today, I have been studying for the ICND2 for 18 days straight. I clocked about 98 hours for an average of at least 5 hours a day studying. Day 19 was the exam day and boy did I fail LOL. My study sessions usually looked like this:

1 hour - reading
1 hour - watching CBT
1 hour - reading
1 hour - watching CBT
1 hour - lab time

OR

1 hour - reading
1 hour - lab time
1 hour - reading
1 hour - lab time
1 hour - reading

(with breaks mixed in of course)

Since it had been about a year since I took the ICND1, I brushed up by reading through the entire CCNA composite exam book first. Once I was refreshed on the topics as a whole, I focused on the ICND2 topics with videos, a book, and labs. The questions asked during the exam about the ICND2 material were very roundabout, in my opinion. I know that much has been said about Cisco being "straight forward" and they do not try to trick you with their exams, but my recent experience does not hold that to be true. Hey I have to say something to make myself feel better right? They tricked me!! Don't they know that Halloween is in October! :D

Here is the material I used:
Book to brush up on the CCNA as a whole: