Some Resume Questions

tr1xtr1x Member Posts: 213
If I have the MCITP:EA certification, or any other certification that encompasses multiple individual certifications, is it more appropriate to just put the MICTIP:EA certification, or should I list all of the individual certifications as well?

Sort of a similar question - If I get the CCENT and then the CCNA, should I list the CCENT on my resume even though having the CCNA implies that I have the CCENT?

The reason I ask these two questions is because not everyone looking at a resume will realize that having the MCITP:EA certification means you have five individual certifications. People in HR may be more impressed if you list out all of the certifications if they don't know how many tests are in a MCITP:EA certification, right?

My last question - If I have an Associates degree and a Bachelors degree, do I need to mention the Associates degree? Also, do I need to say which schools I went to to get them, or is that irrelevant as long as it wasn't prestigious/ivy league?

Comments

• earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Lot of questions here.
    1. It's actually more important to explain what the MCITP:EA is than what all exams it entails but I would list the client exam that was taken.
    2. I wouldn't list the CCENT if you have the CCNA. It doesn't matter if you took the 1 or 2 test method once you have the CCNA completed.
    3. The school is not really relevant but I list it anyway. As far as listing an associates (or AAS) degree along withn the Bachelors some people may actually prefer seeing that as the AS and AAS sometimes actually provide more hands on knowledge than the bachelors and some hiring managers may prefer it.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • tr1xtr1x Member Posts: 213
    Thanks for the insight earweed.
  • DevilryDevilry Member Posts: 668