Options

Installing ESXI on Usb and then installing Vcenter

mishymishy Member Posts: 209 ■■■□□□□□□□
Sorry I am still new to Virtualisation so this is a newbie question. I would like to install ESXi on a usb so that I will be able to move my installation to any other server that buy later on.

My question is if I install ESxi on USB can I then install the Vcenter on the HDD because I am trying to create a dedicated installation of VMware rather than a hosted one.

My computer has an internal USB port so thats where I would like to insert and install on my USB but I am not sure what I will have to do next to install the the Vcenter suite because that will install SQL and Apache I think?

So really my question is can I install ESXI on USB and then install the Vcenter suite on the HDD on the same PC?

Comments

• Options
    jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Hiya,

we always install ESX on USB nowadays which is great. The issue is however that a USB stick cannot be used as local storage.
    When you install ESX onto that USB stick, you can certainly boot the server into ESXI, but you will be prompted with a warning that the server has no local storage (even when you have a 64GB USB stick and ESXI only uses a few hundred MB, the reminder won't show up as usable storage).

You would need to add either some localstorage on SCSI / SATA / SAS or via NFS / ISCSI.

the virtual center is installed installed on Windows (e.g. Server 2008R2) so you'd need local storage to store the VM on.

What you can do is

1. Put some local storage into your "source" server
    2. Install a VM with 2008R2, install vcenter on it
    3. Connect to your ESX server using the client from your workstation
    4. Browse the datastore and copy the VM onto a USB drive you have attached to your workstation