Options

Controller and AP for Lab

thehourmanthehourman Member Posts: 723
I am studying for CCNA Wireless since I am going to need it for my new job. However, I do not have a controller and AP. I am not sure which model I should get.
I already have 3550 switch that I can use, can you guys recommend a controller and AP I can buy from eBay for my lab?
When I buy a controller, do I need Cisco license to connect an AP into it?

Thanks
Studying:
Working on CCNA: Security. Start date: 12.28.10
Microsoft 70-640 - on hold (This is not taking me anywhere. I started this in October, and it is December now, I am still on page 221. WTH!)
Reading:
Network Warrior - Currently at Part II
Reading IPv6 Essentials 2nd Edition - on hold

Comments

• Options
    SteveO86SteveO86 Member Posts: 1,423
    The controller model will depict how many AP's can connect to it so it's not license restricted. (ie. 2106 6 APs, 2125 25 AP's)

I'm not sure how cheap you can get them off ebay or how much you want to spend but I don't think they will be too cheap. Maybe keep an eye for a cheap 2106, the 5xx series are EoL and are for small business not large scale enterprise.

Are you going to be supporting Cisco Hardware or also the Wireless connection? The CWNP material has some good material on the basics of RF, it's vendor neutral though, but it will have some good material on understanding antennas types and RF signal strength.

I'd find out what version of the WLC software they running and read through the configuration guide. The CCNA Wireless study guides, I did not find very technical. The configuration guides also contain screenshots of the GUI as well as the CLI commands.
    My Networking blog
    Latest blog post: Let's review EIGRP Named Mode
    Currently Studying: CCNP: Wireless - IUWMS
  • Options