Options

Switched Ethernet - Physical vs. Logical Topology

JJBladesterJJBladester Member Posts: 38 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am studying the data link layer. If I have a switch set up to service 10 computers, I believe my physical topology would be a star but the logical topology would be point-to-point. Is this correct?

My reasoning for physical star is because each computer is plugged into a different switch port in a star arrangement. My reasining for a logical point-to-point is that if Computer A wants to talk to Computer B, the switch allows that communication directly as if (logically) Computer A and Computer B were connected point-to-point (like a cable running directly from A to B).

Comments

• Options
    capitanuionutcapitanuionut Member Posts: 55 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I am studying the data link layer. If I have a switch set up to service 10 computers, I believe my physical topology would be a star but the logical topology would be point-to-point. Is this correct?

My reasoning for physical star is because each computer is plugged into a different switch port in a star arrangement. My reasining for a logical point-to-point is that if Computer A wants to talk to Computer B, the switch allows that communication directly as if (logically) Computer A and Computer B were connected point-to-point (like a cable running directly from A to B).

Physical, a switched Ethernet network is a broadcast multi access network. At the logical level you can say that each device can be identified by the switch by it's mac address, but this after the device sent a message to another device on the network.