Options

Need help with setting up the NIC

SunnySahotaSunnySahota Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

Need your assistant with a problem I'm encountering.

Here's the scenario;
I am studying for the 70-640 exam and have installed Windows Server 2008 R2.

I am running the server off a vm on VMWare, and the Host OS is Windows 7 (fully updated with SP1)
In VMWare I have assigned 4GB RAM and 80GB Hard Disk space to the Server install.
The system is made up of;
Core i7 930
ASUS Sabertooth x58
12 GB RAM
1TB hard drive

I am following the MS Press book and when I try to set the static IP address according to what it says to in the book, I get an error on the NIC (unidentified network). If I set it to obtain an IP address automatically it works without a problem.

Could someone tell me how to go about setting up the NIC on the vm so that it allows me to set a static IP address in server 2008 (on the vm) so that it works and allows me to access the internet?

Thanks,
Sunny

Comments

• Options
    rphannrphann Member Posts: 76 ■■□□□□□□□□
    You have to configure the settings in VMware. Under Devices settings, check the "Bridged" Network Connection settings. This will allow the server to access the physical network which is connected to the Internet. Hope this helps.
  • Options
    rphann wrote: »
    You have to configure the settings in VMware. Under Devices settings, check the "Bridged" Network Connection settings. This will allow the server to access the physical network which is connected to the Internet. Hope this helps.

Thanks for replying rphann. I have selected the "Bridged" option in the Virtual Machine Settings in VMWare. After booting up the virtual machine with the server installed on it, I still get a connection error (unidentified network) when setting a static IP address and DNS server.

I am trying to set the following:

IP Address: 192.168.5.2
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.5.1

Preferred DNS Server: 192.168.5.1