first time connecting a console terminal: cisco 2524 router

johnifanx98johnifanx98 Member Posts: 329
no luck.

I use
#1 rj45-db9 (made one following this link: RJ45 to DB9-F Adapter CISCO,ADAPTERS,NETWORK,TELCO)
#2 rollover cable (made one following this link: Cisco RJ45 RollOver cable pinout and wiring @ pinouts.ru)
#3 emulator I use: hyperterminal or putty.
Parameters: 9600baud/8 data bits/no parity/2 stop bits/none flow control

Every time, the status bar of hyperterminal says connected, but no characters returned. I really ran out of idea how to narrow down this issue.

I tried the same on 2502 too. Though they're both used, the chances of both failing should be small?!

Comments

  • BlackoutBlackout CCENT, CCNA-Security, ITILv3, CompTIA S+, CompTIA A+ Raleigh, NCMember Posts: 512 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I use teraterm, the only time I have used hyperterminal was because I blew up my IOS on my 2950 and needed to Xmodem a new one on. but from my experience, it should be 1 stop bit, and I know this is a crazy question but did you try and hit the return button after connecting?
    Current Certification Path: CCNA, CCNP Security, CCDA, CCIE Security

    "Practice doesn't make perfect. Perfect practice makes perfect"

    Vincent Thomas "Vince" Lombardi
  • alxxalxx Member Posts: 755
    I'd be double and triple checking that cable you made and buzz it out with a multimeter

    I'd go off cisco's pinouts
    Auxiliary Port, Console Port, And Adapter Pinouts For Cisco 1000, 1600, 2500, 2600, And 3600 Series Routers - Cisco Systems
    Cabling Guide for Console and AUX Ports - Cisco Systems

    I
    s it worth making your own console cable if you can buy them with free shipping for $3 from Hongkong ?
    and they work just fine.
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • johnifanx98johnifanx98 Member Posts: 329
    alxx wrote: »
    I'd be double and triple checking that cable you made and buzz it out with a multimeter

    I'd go off cisco's pinouts
    Auxiliary Port, Console Port, And Adapter Pinouts For Cisco 1000, 1600, 2500, 2600, And 3600 Series Routers - Cisco Systems
    Cabling Guide for Console and AUX Ports - Cisco Systems

    I
    s it worth making your own console cable if you can buy them with free shipping for $3 from Hongkong ?
    and they work just fine.

    Actually I did order one from a seller from HK or somewhere, who told me it would take a month before the order arrives.
  • johnifanx98johnifanx98 Member Posts: 329
    Blackout wrote: »
    I use teraterm, the only time I have used hyperterminal was because I blew up my IOS on my 2950 and needed to Xmodem a new one on. but from my experience, it should be 1 stop bit, and I know this is a crazy question but did you try and hit the return button after connecting?

    this teraterm really is old.... I could not even install it on my XP...
  • alan2308alan2308 CISSP, MCSA 2008, MCSA 2012, CCNA R&S, CCNA Security Ann Arbor, MIMember Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Every time, the status bar of hyperterminal says connected, but no characters returned. I really ran out of idea how to narrow down this issue.

    I tried the same on 2502 too. Though they're both used, the chances of both failing should be small?!

    Did you hit enter a couple times?
  • johnifanx98johnifanx98 Member Posts: 329
    alan2308 wrote: »
    Did you hit enter a couple times?

    I did. Is there any terminal emulator that can help narrow down the issue?
  • alxxalxx Member Posts: 755
    which version of teraterm ?
    Latest is 4.71 from 31st of August 2011 Download - Tera Term - SourceForge.JPave you tried connecting to the router via telnet over ethernet ?

    To me it sounds like your cable isn't correct. Did you check it against the cisco pinouts ?

    hangon 2 stop bits ??? no , there's one error
    make it - 9600 , 8bit data , no parity , 1 stop bit, no flow control
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • jkongbonmejkongbonme Member Posts: 17 ■□□□□□□□□□
    no luck.

    I use
    #1 rj45-db9 (made one following this link: RJ45 to DB9-F Adapter CISCO,ADAPTERS,NETWORK,TELCO)
    #2 rollover cable (made one following this link: Cisco RJ45 RollOver cable pinout and wiring @ pinouts.ru)
    #3 emulator I use: hyperterminal or putty.
    Parameters: 9600baud/8 data bits/no parity/2 stop bits/none flow control

    Every time, the status bar of hyperterminal says connected, but no characters returned. I really ran out of idea how to narrow down this issue.

    I tried the same on 2502 too. Though they're both used, the chances of both failing should be small?!

    Did you try to swap the COM1 or COM2 ports on your PC sometime the IRQ setting may interferes otherwise just like others said roller cable may just be bad.
  • MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm thinking that perhaps you're trying to connect on the wrong COM port. Right click My Computer, go to Properties, Hardware tab, Device Manager, click on the + beside Ports (COM & LPT) Should be in there which one is active. I rarely use hyperterminal, hurts my eyes after a while. I use Putty or teraterm.
    2017 Certification Goals:
    CCNP R/S
  • johnifanx98johnifanx98 Member Posts: 329
    MAC_Addy wrote: »
    I'm thinking that perhaps you're trying to connect on the wrong COM port. Right click My Computer, go to Properties, Hardware tab, Device Manager, click on the + beside Ports (COM & LPT) Should be in there which one is active. I rarely use hyperterminal, hurts my eyes after a while. I use Putty or teraterm.

    Figure out why. What the link below tells is the color-index mapping on RJ45 side, not DB9 side.

    RJ45 to DB9-F Adapter CISCO,ADAPTERS,NETWORK,TELCO,SERIAL

    I need to translate it to DB9 mapping using table C-1 in link as below,

    Cisco 2524 and Cisco 2525 Router User Guide - Pinouts for the Cisco 2524 and Cisco 2525* [Cisco 2500 Series Routers] - Cisco Systems

    I still not quite sure. But obviously the adaptor is mistake. I borroed my officemate's pre-assembled RJ45-DB9 adaptor, and it works.
  • MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Do you have any genuine cisco console cables? You could go on ebay and get some dirt cheap.
    2017 Certification Goals:
    CCNP R/S
  • silverspotsilverspot Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi - I would try different speeds when trying to log in.
  • johnifanx98johnifanx98 Member Posts: 329
    silverspot wrote: »
    Hi - I would try different speeds when trying to log in.

    I've resolved this issue. Solutions:

    DB-9 end
    =========
    #1 blue
    #2 orange
    #3 black
    #4 red
    #5 green
    #6 yellow
    #7 brown
    #8 white

    Console port RJ-45
    =========
    #1 white-orange
    #2 orange
    #3 white-green
    #4 green
    #5 white-blue
    #6 blue
    #7 white-brown
    #8 brown

    computer end RJ-45
    =========
    #1 white-blue
    #2 white-green
    #3 blue
    #4 white-brown
    #5 green
    #6 orange
    #7 brown
    #8 white-orange

    9600 baud/1 stop/no flow control/no parity.

    Now the issue I'm facing is password. This is an used router. Damn, I got this after connected,
    F3: 6903064+76208+293624 at 0x3000060

    Restricted Rights Legend

    Use, duplication, or disclosure by the Government is
    subject to restrictions as set forth in subparagraph
    (c) of the Commercial Computer Software - Restricted
    Rights clause at FAR sec. 52.227-19 and subparagraph
    (c) (1) (ii) of the Rights in Technical Data and Computer
    Software clause at DFARS sec. 252.227-7013.

    cisco Systems, Inc.
    170 West Tasman Drive
    San Jose, California 95134-1706



    Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
    IOS (tm) 2500 Software (C2500-DS-L), Version 11.2(12), RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    Copyright (c) 1986-1998 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    Compiled Mon 23-Feb-98 14:47 by tlane
    Image text-base: 0x03037B94, data-base: 0x00001000

    cisco 2524 (68030) processor (revision J) with 14336K/2048K bytes of memory.
    Processor board ID 06956836, with hardware revision 00000000
    Bridging software.
    X.25 software, Version 2.0, NET2, BFE and GOSIP compliant.
    Basic Rate ISDN software, Version 1.0.
    1 Ethernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
    2 Serial network interface(s)
    1 ISDN Basic Rate interface(s)
    5-in-1 module for Serial Interface 0
    5-in-1 module for Serial Interface 1
    Integrated NT1 for ISDN Basic Rate interface
    32K bytes of non-volatile configuration memory.
    16384K bytes of processor board System flash (Read ONLY)

    Warning: Serial0.1 does not currently have an ip address


    Press RETURN to get started!


    *Mar 1 00:00:12.275: %LINK-3-UPDOWN: Interface BRI0, changed state to up
    *Mar 1 00:00:12.279: %LINK-3-UPDOWN: Interface Ethernet0, changed state to up
    *Mar 1 00:00:12.283: %LINK-3-UPDOWN: Interface Serial0, changed state to down
    *Mar 1 00:00:12.287: %LINK-3-UPDOWN: Interface Serial1, changed state to down
    *Mar 1 00:00:12.923: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface BRI0, chan
    ged state to down
    *Mar 1 00:00:12.927: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface BRI0:1, ch
    anged state to C

    =======================================================================
    | |
    | The equipment now being accessed and information available through |
    | this equipment is confidential and proprietary. It may be accessed |
    | or used only as specifically authorized. All other access or use |
    | is prohibited and is subject to legal action! |
    | |
    ===================down
    *Mar 1 00:00:12.927: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface BRI0:2, ch
    anged state to down
    *Mar 1 00:00:12.931: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Ethernet0,
    changed state to down
    *Mar 1 00:00:12.951: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial0, c
    hanged state to down
    *Mar 1 00:00:12.951: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Serial1, c
    hanged state to down
    *Mar 1 00:00:14.051: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: L====================================
    ================



    User Access Verification

    Password: ine protocol on Interface Loopback0, changed state to up
    *Mar 1 00:00:15.467: %LINK-5-CHANGED: Interface BRI0, changed state to administ
    ratively down
    *Mar 1 00:00:15.471: %LINK-3-UPDOWN: Interface BRI0:1, changed state to down
    *Mar 1 00:00:15.475: %LINK-3-UPDOWN: Interface BRI0:2, changed state to down
    *Mar 1 00:00:20.295: %SYS-5-CONFIG_I: Configured from memory by console
    *Mar 1 00:00:20.299: %SYS-5-RESTART: System restarted --
    Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
    IOS (tm) 2500 Software (C2500-DS-L), Version 11.2(12), RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    Copyright (c) 1986-1998 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    Compiled Mon 23-Feb-98 14:47 by tlane
    *Mar 1 00:00:20.319: %IP_SNMP-4-NOTRAPIP: SNMP trap source Serial0.1 has no ip
    address
    % Password: timeout expired!
    Password:
    % Password: timeout expired!
    Password:
    % Password: timeout expired!
    % Bad passwords



    NYNEW01RT001 con0 is now available





    Press RETURN to get started.


    C

    =======================================================================
    | |
    | The equipment now being accessed and information available through |
    | this equipment is confidential and proprietary. It may be accessed |
    | or used only as specifically authorized. All other access or use |
    | is prohibited and is subject to legal action! |
    | |
    =======================================================================



    User Access Verification

    Password:
    Password:
    Password:
    % Bad passwords

    NYNEW01RT001 con0 is now available



    Press RETURN to get started.
  • johnifanx98johnifanx98 Member Posts: 329
    alxx wrote: »

    Thanks. Now I'm at
    >o
    Configuration register = 0x2102 at last boot
    Bit# Configuration register option settings:
    15 Diagnostic mode disabled
    14 IP broadcasts do not have network numbers
    13 Boot default ROM software if network boot fails
    12-11 Console speed is 9600 baud
    10 IP broadcasts with ones
    08 Break disabled
    07 OEM disabled
    06 Ignore configuration disabled
    03-00 Boot file is cisco2-2500 (or 'boot system' command)

    As instructed, I should set the 6th bit to skip configuration file. Then I run "o/r 2142", but it does not work... What register value should I use...
  • alxxalxx Member Posts: 755
    sorry can't help further on that, never had to do a password reset on a 2500 and don't own a 2500 anymore(had a 2514)

    make sure you are typing a zero for 0x2142 not an O


    These are just the same as the cisco page but easier to read
    Stub Area » Cisco 2500 Series Router Password Reset
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • johnifanx98johnifanx98 Member Posts: 329
    alxx wrote: »
    sorry can't help further on that, never had to do a password reset on a 2500 and don't own a 2500 anymore(had a 2514)

    make sure you are typing a zero for 0x2142 not an O


    These are just the same as the cisco page but easier to read
    Stub Area » Cisco 2500 Series Router Password Reset

    This works. Thanks a lot.
Sign In or Register to comment.