Options

What should to build a lab for CCNA that can also be used for CCIE lab test?

ghost2qghost2q Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
sorry the title is suppose to say What should I get....

Hi, I have not taken the CCNA yet and I have no experience but I am determined to go all the way through CCIE (routing and switching). Since I have no experience I want to build a home lab that can help me with my CCNA exam but also can be used for my CCIE lab test. I don't want to buy something for my CCNA and when I want to study for my CCIE I would have to get a whole new lab set. Can anyone tell me the exact models of routers and switches I should get? and anything else I may need?

Comments

• Options
    mattaumattau Member Posts: 218
    forget a lab of routers. dynamips is your friend. trust me. the journey to anything even beyond ccna is a long one and you can often change your mind on what your goals are. stick with dynamips and get a few switches. if money permits some layer 3 switches will serve you for a long time.

• Options
    Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you are at >= CCNA level you should probably forget about doing the CCIE at this time. Head over to the CCNA forums and check out some of the lab threads over there.

If you are serious about doing CCNA and going directly to CCIE you need to think about your time frame. The written and the lab change from time to time and if you don't think you are going to try to go for it relatively shortly, I wouldn't worry about it. If you are serious about doing it read on.

I have similar goals (although I do work in a network engineering role and have my CCNA and CCNA:S). My CCIE:S (and CCNP:S) goals are going to go like this:

-Build lab to spec of the INE topology: s3.www.ine.com/downloads/ine.sc.physical.topology.v5.002.pdf