Options

MSIT in Information Assurance & InfoSec but no experience?

ajparkerajparker Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
First off, let me say hello as I am new to the forum.

I am very interested in landing an entry level job in IA/InfoSec however I currently have no experience in the field. My Background: I graduated in 08 - BS in Computer Info Systems currently working as a Systems Analyst for a company in the healthcare industry. My job duties are more along the line of a Technical Business Analyst and essientially follows the SDLC path from requirements gathering, analysis, overseeing development, integration, testing, deployment etc.

So I am 3 years into my career and after alot of researching and I want to move into InfoSec/IA. I have always been interested in this area and now I am looking for ways to get my foot in the door. I would like to continue to build on the Infosec knowledge that I learned in college and combine them with the skills from my current job. I have been doing some research online and came across the MSIT in Information Assurance and InfoSec program that Capella has and I am seriously considering starting asap but I wanted to get some insight from currently security professionals and wanted some advice. I think that adding this type of degree or maybe certifications might help me get a infosec job that has a focus on HIPAA/ healthcare since I already have extensive knowledge in that area.

The type of job i am looking for in this area that has some of the following duties to name a few similar to this Information Security Business Analyst job req i found Information Security Business Analyst Job in Fort Worth, TX=

Develop information security risk assessment and Systems Security Plans
Oversee the implementation and status of information security controls through the use of vulnerability testing, security audits and accreditation.
Draft and recommend Information Security policies