Options

Does a Master's degree qualify me for CISSP

JoshsevoJoshsevo Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, I am arecent college grad and I am having a hard time finding a job in IT or Forensics. I currently have an Active Clearance from my time in the US Navy and have my CEH, CHFI, Sec+ and working on a few others. But I have recently gone back to school to get my Master's as I am having no luck finding a job anywhere.

It's really weird cause I thought I would get hired failry quickly having the above mentioned stuff. But everyone wants experience.

So if I have no experience but I have my Masters degree in Computer Informations systems Security then would I be qualifed to take this test?

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Do you have any experience at all in any of the domains? If I read ISC2's requirements correctly, the answer would be no. The degree and certs will waive only one of the 5 years required. You still need 4 years experience in at least two of the domains.

From https://www.isc2.org/cissp-professional-experience.aspx

Note that if certain circumstances apply and with appropriate documentation, candidates are eligible to waive one year of professional experience:

One year waiver of the professional experience requirement based on a candidate’s education
    Candidates can substitute a maximum of one year of direct full-time security professional work experience described above if they have a four-year college degree OR Advanced Degree in information security from a U.S. National Center of Academic Excellence in information Security (CAEIAE) or regional equivalent.

OR

One-year waiver of the professional experience requirement for holding an additional credential
    on the (ISC)² approved list